The Girl in the Woods

The Girl in the Woods

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedstr#65533;m and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.A missing childWhen a four-year-old girl disappears in the woods just outside Fj#65533;llbacka, the community is horror-struck. Thirty years ago, a young girl went missing from the exact same spot, and was later discovered, murdered.A murderBack then, two teenage girls were found guilty of the killing. Could it really be a coincidence that one of the girls - now a world-famous actress - has just returned to Fj#65533;llbacka? Detective Patrik Hedstr#65533;m starts investigating, with his wife, bestselling crime writer Erica Falck, by his side.A community torn apartBut as Patrik and Erica dig deeper, the truth becomes ever murkier, because it seems that everyone in the tight-knit community is hiding something. And soon, the residents must confront the fact that they could be harbouring a murderer in their midst...
Publisher: London :, HarperCollinsPublishers,, 2018
Copyright Date: ♭2017
ISBN: 9780007518371
0007518374
Characteristics: 583 pages
Additional Contributors: Nunnally, Tiina 1952-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
sharon711
Apr 24, 2019

When a truth is improperly told the consequences can build to erupt with terrifying force. But after making my way through 600 pages of story, I was left with too many nagging questions. How does the old tale from the 1600s tie into the present? Other than a hazy reference on the last page, there is no explanation of the relationship of the key players from the past to those in the present. The link between the murder of the two small children 20 years apart is also tenuous. Finally, although the motive is clear for the terrifying climax in the book, it doesn't link up well to the key murder investigations, past or present.

The theme of the three stories in this novel revolves around the roll of parenting. Love is not enough to keep the children safe. Some children grow up bad even when raised by responsible, loving parents. Parents who love dearly can make bad choices. Other parents make child-rearing decisions based on self interest. Still others display no interest at all in their children. The book is full of many examples of what not to do, which might, I guess, carry a positive message for some of us.

There is lots of intrigue and vivid description, with plenty of momentum to carry the story. But too many loose ends left me dissatisfied. Read this if you have lots of free time and you enjoy drawing your own conclusions.

l
LindaMarion
Sep 10, 2018

I would love to read this book as I have read all her previous books. But at close to 600 pages, I felt the story was padded too much. I returned the book to the library. I hope her next book will be 300-400 pages.

g
gloryb
Jul 19, 2018

This book continues with Lackberg's main policing characters used in her other novels - Patrick, Erica, Gosta, Martin, Mellberg, etc. It seems that a missing child found dead in the lake in the woods was also the same place where another child had been found dead 20 years earlier. The police force expects that it is the same murderer. Lackberg has a way of writing with such detail - for example she will say the character opened the window but then adds the minor detail about the fly on the window being able to escape. I found it quite easy to skip over paragraphs - just read the main sentences to get the drift and the ones that carry the main plot line. She does have secondary storylines weaving in present day immigration problems with Syrian refugees (she's sympathetic), a centuries old family curse (at the end the connection becomes clear why this story is given almost alternating chapters), teenage misfits, and updates on the family life of her continuing characters. The plot is intriguing, just drawn out too much.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top