The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
67
4
3
 …

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

"Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing." --Gillian Flynn

"Unputdownable." --Stephen King

"A dark, twisty confection." --Ruth Ware

"Absolutely gripping." --Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Publisher: New York, NY :, William Morrow,, [2018]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ♭2018
ISBN: 9780062678416
0062678418
Characteristics: 427 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
joanlouise1
Jul 19, 2018

I feel better to find that this is a pen name, and the author is actually male --
because the only issue I've had since starting the book is that the female voice just felt "off," and especially so for a child psychologist.

Even when she talks about crying over her former patients, there's a detachment that sounds male to me.

And it is. But it's a hell of a read so far and only going to get better, I expect.

c
cathyschuetze
Jul 16, 2018

A great read. I can’t wait for his next book!

b
Bravehoratius
Jul 11, 2018

This is the first fiction novel I have been able to get into for a long time...I usually prefer non-fiction or YouTube. And by "get into" I mean I was completely absorbed and mesmerized. This writer uses language lusciously. I was compelled all the way through. I'm returning it early so the next person can read it ASAP.

b
bansidthe
Jul 10, 2018

Found it tedious and draggy. Just couldn't get into the character...oh well, can't like them all

m
maryjocwheeler
Jul 07, 2018

LOVED this book! A great read that had some unexpected twists! Quick read for the summer! :) Off to find more by this author!

f
fangger
Jun 30, 2018

I have read a lot of thrillers but this one was amazing. I started it at 4:30 pm and quite literally couldn’t stop. Finished it at 10 pm. Now I am going to look up A. J. Finn and see if she has started her next book yet!

j
jmli
Jun 25, 2018

4.25 Stars

Very, very, very well-written. This book makes you feel a plethora of emotions. I was so touched and experienced annoyance, disappointment, shock, etc. at the same time.

The Woman in the Window is a rollercoaster. There are plenty of twists and turns at every corner in the story, and I was always on the edge of my seat. Also, the ending is so creepy and messed up.

z
ZeldaN
Jun 25, 2018

A long slog through boredom. Not especially well written. Nothing new or original. Couldn't care less about the characters.

k
kkkkkathy
Jun 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this fast-moving book. I read the large print version -- almost 600 pages -- in two days during a beach vacation! If you are looking for a new author, this could be the book for you.

l
LibraryLES
Jun 21, 2018

Loved it!! Reminded me a lot of Girl on the Train.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

p
Pigmama6
Jul 01, 2018

"As Bernard Shaw said, I often quote myself; it adds spice to the conversation. As Shaw also said, alcohol is the anesthesia by which we endure the operation of life. Good old Shaw."

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

v
violet_fox_523
Jun 04, 2018

violet_fox_523 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

PimaLib_DavidaL May 17, 2018

PimaLib_DavidaL thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

j
JGesellchen
Jul 09, 2018

May 2018 Book Club

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top