Bellwether Revivals

Bellwether Revivals

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
Part Secret History , part Brideshead Revisited for the 21st century, The Bellwether Revivals is a page-turning, romantic, eerie tale of genius and, possibly, madness; a stunning debut for fans of Sarah Waters, Donna Tartt, and Lauren Goff.

The Bellwether Revivals opens and closes with bodies. The story of whose bodies and how they come to be spread about an elegant house on the river near Cambridge is told by Oscar, a young, bright working class man who has fallen in love with an upper-class Cambridge student, Iris, and thereby become entangled with a group of close friends, led by Iris's charismatic, brilliant, possibly dangerous brother. For Eden Bellwether believes he can heal -- and perhaps more -- through the power of music.

In this masterful debut, we too are seduced by this gilded group of young people, entranced by Eden's powerful personality and his obvious talent as a musician, and caught off guard by the strangeness of Iris and Eden's parents. And we find ourselves utterly unsure as to whether Eden Bellweather is a saviour or a villain, and whether Oscar will be able to solve this mystery in time to save himself, if not everyone else.


From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York :, Viking,, 2012
ISBN: 9780771089336
Branch Call Number: Online eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file, rda
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
gusmcrae
Sep 08, 2014

This novel turns out to be a surprising page-turner. It explores the question: does music have the power to heal physical ailments? One young man believes he has the power to use music for this purpose. His friends and family, though, wonder if he is just delusional. Ultimately tragedy ensues as they all seek to find the truth.

I found the ending a bit of a letdown after the very tight, very fast-moving first 3/4 of the book, but overall, I enjoyed the novel and look forward to future books from the author.

basay2000 Apr 24, 2014

hard to believe this was written by a first time writer. I was very impressed by the depth of charachers and skill of writing and story telling. Was literally up all night reading this book. Would highly recommend it and can't wait for his next.

w
Winnipeg1
Oct 19, 2012

Average, predictable story of the angst of the entitled upper classes in Jolly Olde... Not terrible, but wouldn't recommend it.

r
rsenots
Jul 25, 2012

I could not put this book down! Another first time writer, I'm beginning to think this is a new trend and I like it! This young writer has taken the reader to England, with wealth, castles, but set in modern times. Such intricate details of the fully developed characters, from an elderly doctor in a nursing home to a pompous aristocrat to a few radical college kids with some
sci-fi elements sprinkled throughout that makes it a worthy place to visit. The ending comes out of left field and I won't say anymore. I can't wait for his next novel! Superb storyteller and I don't want to scare you off by the sci-fi reference, well, read and you won't regret it.

m
mellyrose89
Jun 17, 2012

This is a fantastic novel! I wanted to read it over and over again. There were a lot of twists that I did not expect, which made it more enjoyable.

c
cheadlebeagle
Apr 16, 2012

This is a terrific book and is reminiscent of The Secret History which I also loved. It is set in Cambridge in a university world and is a psychological study and a murder mystery combined. I could not put it down.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top