The Nearest Exit

The Nearest Exit

eBook - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Now faced with the end of his quiet, settled life, reluctant spy Milo Weaver has no choice but to turn back to his old job as a 'tourist.' Before he can get back to the CIA's dirty work, he has to prove his loyalty to his new bosses, who know little of Milo's background and less about who is really pulling the strings in the government above the Department of Tourism - or in the outside world, which is beginning to believe the legend of its existence. Milo is suddenly in a dangerous position, between right and wrong, between powerful self-interested men, between patriots and traitors - especially as a man who has nothing left to lose.
Publisher: New York :, Minotaur Books,, 2010
ISBN: 9781429927239
Branch Call Number: Online eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file, rda
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Sep 21, 2013

Completed 9/19/13

Jul 18, 2013

A great book in the tradition of Graham Greene or LeCarre. Will hold your interest throughout!

Aug 12, 2012

This sequel to "The Tourist" is another outstanding contemporary spy novel from Steinhauer.

Jul 05, 2012

Builds on the cadence and character development from the excellent initial book in the series (The Tourist). See my comments on An American Spy for my take on the series. There are great moments that take this above the "thriller" level to a more interesting and nuanced level (thinking here of his captivity with the Germans and his reaction to their change of pace). Definitely consider this a more thoughtful addition to the genre--and a very believable, nuanced hero.

Jan 02, 2012

I am not a LeCarre fan but I dd like the book immensly. A wonderful spy novel makes me want to read more.

Aug 24, 2010

The reviewers are right: If you like early John Le Carre (the Smiley books), you'll enjoy The Nearest Exit and its predecessor, The Tourist (make sure you read them in order). Together with to Henry Porter and Peter Steiner's spy novels, these are the best I have read in years.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at SPL

To Top