Nyxia

Nyxia

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
1
1
 …
Emmett accepts an interstellar space contract but learns en route that to win the promised fortune he and nine other recruits face a brutal competition, putting their very humanity at risk.
Publisher: New York :, Crown,, [2017]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ♭2017
ISBN: 9780399556791
0399556796
Characteristics: 376 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
blue_dog_31717
Apr 08, 2019

Nyxia is a spectacular read with some of the best characters I've ever seen in a book, along with a solid storyline. It's cliffhanger ending left me desperate for the sequel, though I am concerned it will lack the thrill and solid cast(for those who read he ending, you'll know what I mean) of the first. The biggest detractor for me was its (however brief) political statements, and that, at times, it seemed to be written for 3rd graders, not the High School/YA audience it was supposed to. Overall, I give this book a 9/10 and a "Would Strongly Recommend Reading" review.

r
Rachel539
Mar 23, 2019

Absolutely incredible! This book is the kind of book that you can't put down, it's creatively written, the plot twists are incredible, and the storyline itself is undescribably inventive. This book is a must-read!

a
Audrey_1974
Dec 10, 2018

Recommended by NYPL for fans of Harry Potter and Hunger Games.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Sep 14, 2018

Nyxia is a very creative book. With every unknown secret that is solved, four more spring up making this book impossible to put down. Everything written in this book has a purpose or meaning that forces you to keep reading to find out what it is. It is about a company named Babel that brings a bunch of teenagers up to space to work for them. They then get them to compete against each other for spots on the Babel company. Being hired means becoming billionaires with unlimited access to Babel service and resources (which is a lot). Losing means going back to your own normal, miserable lives, or so Babel says. The winners though, will explore and mine the mysterious substance: nyxia on Eden, a planet that is unknown to humankind except for Babel. Nyxia is a very useful and very dangerous. You can influence it into anything you want. You can also use it to heal and destroy diseases. But to much influence and nyxia can overpower you and destroy you from the inside out. The competitions on board the spaceship are to prepare and rank the teenagers for Eden's environment, nyxia, and species already there. With such high stakes for the spots on Eden the competition is neck and neck between the competitors. Dirty and even deadly play is expected in this extraordinary book. .5 stars.
@Flo_Reada of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

f
Futuregohangurl
Jun 05, 2018

a good book. i cant wait for book 2. it sure had some good parts sad and happy. i am sure book 2 will be good

MelifluousView Mar 06, 2018

I loved this book, and I can't exactly pinpoint why. Emmett felt realistic and genuine. He fought to keep his values when Babel kept pushing the other way. I didn't see the twists coming every time. I want the next book!

ArapahoeTiegan Nov 10, 2017

Brilliant. The characters are amazing and the story is addictive. You might think you know what's going on, but then Babel changes the rules. Again and again. Right up to the end, leaving me drooling for the next book. We're headed for Eden, but can we trust what Babel says we're going to find? Can we even trust why these 15 "lucky" teens have been sent to Eden? So many questions and so many feels.. where is book two?!?

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
b
blue_dog_31717
Apr 08, 2019

blue_dog_31717 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
b
blue_dog_31717
Apr 08, 2019

Other: Mild Violence throughout

Quotes

Add a Quote
b
blue_dog_31717
Apr 08, 2019

"Wasn't I lucky? I'd been picked from a lottery out of thousands of applicants.
Funny thing is, I know I never applied"

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top