The Wishing Thread

The Wishing Thread

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
" For fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Sarah Addison Allen, The Wishing Thread is an enchanting novel about the bonds between sisters, the indelible pull of the past, and the transformational power of love. he Van Ripper women have been the talk of Tarrytown, New York, for centuries. Some say they're angels; some say they're crooks. In their tumbledown Stitchery, not far from the stomping grounds of the legendary Headless Horseman, the Van Ripper sisters Aubrey, Bitty, and Meggie are said to knit people's most ardent wishes into beautiful scarves and mittens, granting them health, success, or even a blossoming romance. But for the magic to work, sacrifices must be made and no one knows that better than the Van Rippers. hen the Stitchery matriarch, Mariah, dies, she leaves the yarn shop to her three nieces. Aubrey, shy and reliable, has dedicated her life to weaving spells for the community, though her sisters have long stayed away. Bitty, pragmatic and persistent, has always been skeptical of magic and wants her children to have a normal, nonmagical life. Meggie, restless and free-spirited, follows her own set of rules. Now, after Mariah's death forces a reunion
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books c2013
ISBN: 9780345538550
Branch Call Number: FIC Van Al 3565
Characteristics: 385 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

LaughingOne Apr 17, 2015

Took me a bit to really get into this story but I finally did, and enjoyed it. It's a bit hard to tell when the story takes place as much seems quite old-fashioned but a bit is more contemporary. It is a slow read, but worth it.

amodolo Oct 16, 2013

This book was not what I was expecting. I'm not sure exactly what I was thinking about going in, a lot more about knitting, but this is a book about what ties people together, and I loved how the idea of knitting was tied into the story. This was definitely a beautiful story that had me tearing up at times, the emotions of the characters really come out. Van Allen shows readers that family will always be there for one another.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top