The Dragonbone Chair

The Dragonbone Chair

eBook - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"One of my favorite fantasy series." --George R. R. Martin
"Groundbreaking." --Patrick Rothfuss
"One of the great fantasy epics of all time." --Christopher Paolini

New York Times -bestselling Tad Williams' landmark epic fantasy saga of Osten Ard begins an exciting new cycle with THE WITCHWOOD CROWN, on sale now!

With The Dragonbone Chair , Tad Williams introduced readers to the incredible fantasy world of Osten Ard. His beloved, internationally bestselling series Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn inspired a generation of modern fantasy writers, including George R.R. Martin, Patrick Rothfuss, and Christopher Paolini, and defined Tad Williams as one of the most important fantasy writers of our time.

This edition features a brand-new introduction from Tad Williams' editor as well as the original introduction from Williams himself!


A war fueled by the powers of dark sorcery is about to engulf the peaceful land of Osten Ard--for Prester John, the High King, lies dying. And with his death, the Storm King, the undead ruler of the elf-like Sithi, seizes the chance to regain his lost realm through a pact with the newly ascended king. Knowing the consequences of this bargain, the king's younger brother joins with a small, scattered group of scholars, the League of the Scroll, to confront the true danger threatening Osten Ard.

Simon, a kitchen boy from the royal castle unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League, will be sent on a quest that offers the only hope of salvation, a deadly riddle concerning long-lost swords of power. Compelled by fate and perilous magics, he must leave the only home he's ever known and face enemies more terrifying than Osten Ard has ever seen, even as the land itself begins to die.

After the landmark Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn trilogy, the epic saga of Osten Ard continues with the brand-new novel, The Heart of What Was Lost . Then don't miss the upcoming trilogy, The Last King of Osten Ard, beginning with The Witchwood Crown !

Praise for Osten Ard:

"Inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy.... It's one of my favorite fantasy series."
--George R. R. Martin, New York Times -bestselling author of A Game of Thrones

"Groundbreaking...changed how people thought of the genre, and paved the way for so much modern fantasy. Including mine."
--Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times -bestselling author of The Name of the Wind

"Tad Williams is a master storyteller, and the Osten Ard books are his masterpiece." --Brandon Sanderson, New York Times -bestselling author of Mistborn

"Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn is one of the great fantasy epics of all time."
--Christopher Paolini, New York Times -bestselling author of Eragon
Publisher: New York : DAW Books, [2005]
ISBN: 9781101160770
Branch Call Number: Online eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource (ix, 654 p.) :,maps
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

dustybizzle Sep 26, 2015

It's been many years since reading this series, but it sticks out in my memory as one of my favorites of all time. While a bit cumbersome at times in terms of story progression, it more than makes up for it in the sheer amount of detail delivered.

Definitely a must read for fans of high fantasy, grand settings and lose-yourself-in-it worlds.

Feb 11, 2015

A very good tale of youth, war, and the true meaning of honor. Choices are not always good, but you always have one. 1st in a series.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at SPL

To Top