Packaging Girlhood

Packaging Girlhood

Rescuing Our Daughters From Marketers' Schemes

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
The stereotype-laden message, delivered through clothes, music, books, and TV, is essentially a continuous plea for girls to put their energies into beauty products, shopping, fashion, and boys. This constant marketing, cheapening of relationships, absence of good women role models, and stereotyping and sexualization of girls is something that parents need to first understand before they can take action.

Lamb and Brown teach parents how to understand these influences, give them guidance on how to talk to their daughters about these negative images, and provide the tools to help girls make positive choices about the way they are in the world.

In the tradition of books like Reviving Ophelia, Odd Girl Out, Queen Bees and Wannabees that examine the world of girls, this book promises to not only spark debate but help parents to help their daughters.
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2006
Edition: 1st ed. --
ISBN: 9780312352509
0312352506
Branch Call Number: 306.3 Lam 3558
Characteristics: xii, 322 p
Additional Contributors: Brown, Lyn Mikel 1956-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
sarahsamnick
Aug 26, 2012

Interesting read on how girls are marketed to and how as parents we can help our daughters avoid the marketing schemes, or at least guide them through.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top