The Secret Life of Bees

The Secret Life of Bees

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
59
6
3
 …
Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees , a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller, now an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys

Fans of Kathryn Stockett's The Help and Beth Hoffman's Saving CeeCee Honeycutt will love Sue Monk Kidd's Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.

When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.
Publisher: New York : Penguin Group, 2008, c2002
ISBN: 9780143114550
0143114557
Branch Call Number: FIC Kidd 6939
Characteristics: xii, 302, 15 p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lowen3
Jan 09, 2018

I fell in love with this book. It's inspiring, beautifully written, and empowering- while keeping an intriguing but not overly complicated plot. It made me cry and laugh out loud. You know you've found a good book if it can make you both laugh and cry. ❤

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 21, 2017

A young girl who grew up in South Carolina in the early 1960s lives with her black nanny and a trio of beekeeping sisters (May, June, and August). Lily has a hard past, vaguely remembering her mother getting murdered, having an abusive father and growing up in an incredibly racist town. This book really mirrors the book 'To Kill A Mockingbird', the main characters Lily and Jean-Louise really resemble each other in terms of innocence.
- @Florence of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

The Secret Life of Bees is a great novel about learning what family really is all about. This book takes place in South Carolina in 1964. The main character is Lily. She is very brave and decides to run away from her abusive father to a nearby town with her coloured “Step In Mother” in hopes of learning more about what happened to her birth mother. The book also includes a interesting look into racism since it takes place back in 1964. The Secret Life of Bees became inspiring to me and was extremely interesting throughout. This book would be very good for a novel study or a class project for anyone that older than 10 years old. In conclusion, the Secret Life of Bees was a very good book and I truly suggest you to try it out. Rating 4.5/5.
@MapleLeaf1 of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

m
Marilyn34
Oct 23, 2017

What would you do if you could find out about your mother if she has been gone since you were a toddler? Would you try to find out or not?

Check out my review of "The Secret Life of Bees" on my blog at:
http://axarr.blogspot.com/2016/09/review-wednesday-secret-life-of-bees-by.html

f
firebird770
Jun 15, 2017

Excellent

r
red_panda_785
Jul 13, 2016

"The Secret Life of Bees" by Sue Monk Kidd, I have to admit, was quite strange, but at the same time inspiring and truly beautiful.
Monk's writing was beautifully detailed and inspiring, but unexplainably awkward and funny. Don't get me wrong, it made the story more down to earth and humorous. It's just that sometimes, specific phrases such as "Rosaleen told me that pissing was the best feeling in the world, besides sex" made you feel a little...weird. I did crack up after reading that though.
As I mentioned before, this was a wonderfully written story. The phrasing was descriptive, magical, and gave me a clear image in my head of what was going on. Yet, what truly made this story great was the stories Sue Monk Kidd told within "The Secret Life of Bees". I felt like I was able to connect with the characters and understand the hardships each one of them went through after hearing how stories - like "Our Lady in Chains"- were able to inspire, and give hope to all of the main characters in the story. That's what made everything seem magical.

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

n
nsurendranath
May 19, 2016

Really empowering novel about a young girl finding her way with the help of other powerful women.

PrepSchoolGirl789 Sep 15, 2015

This book-I would have enjoyed it more if Sue Monk Kidd pretty much hadn't implied that all men (Lily's Dad) were abusers and stupid. Honestly, I LIKE feminist fiction and it was a good first novel. However, I don't think I'll read any more of SMK's work.

b
Bonnie_Schultz
Aug 30, 2015

An unusual Southern coming-of-age novel about a young girl in search of knowledge about her deceased mother. She escapes her abusive father with her nanny and happens upon a family of beekeeping sisters. It is an excellent first novel and holds its own in the large library of Southern literature. Lots of fun facts about bees and beekeeping.

h
hildesanders
Aug 25, 2015

The Secret Life of Bees is beautifully written, as is the previous books i've read of Sue Monk Kidd. Her stories draw you into a different time and era. I just started Traveling with Pomegranates! I'm sure it will be awesome!

TwistedReader Jul 21, 2015

This book was spectacular. It was filled with symbols and imagery that I loved. I would definitely recommend for a nice quick read.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

l
lowen3
Jan 09, 2018

lowen3 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

a
artcat15
Apr 18, 2017

artcat15 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

s
Sarah1984
Sep 05, 2014

Sarah1984 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

t
TiaunaMass
Jun 14, 2014

TiaunaMass thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

blue_gazelle_42 Feb 20, 2013

blue_gazelle_42 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

k
krystalamanda16
Dec 24, 2012

krystalamanda16 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Notices

Add Notices

l
lowen3
Jan 09, 2018

Coarse Language: Just a little... no use of the "big one"

t
TiaunaMass
Jul 10, 2014

Violence: Fighting scene

t
TiaunaMass
Jul 10, 2014

Coarse Language: the N word that's about it.

Summary

Add a Summary

a
artcat15
Apr 18, 2017

For fourteen year-old Lily Owens, living with her father T. Ray means selling peaches, and reminiscing of the tales of her long lost mother in her free time. When she finds a clue pointing to her mother's true past, her and housemaid Rosaleen adventure to Tuburon, South Carolina, and meet a group of beekeeping sisters who contain the secret to her mother's past.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top