Mistress of the Revolution

Mistress of the Revolution

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
A singular new voice in historical fiction. A time of decadence in a country embroiled in revolution. An unforgettably high-spirited heroine.
Set in opulent, decadent, turbulent revolutionary France, Mistress of the Revolution is the story of Gabrielle de Montserrat. An impoverished noblewoman blessed with fiery red hair and a mischievous demeanor, Gabrielle is only fifteen when she meets her true love, a commoner named Pierre-AndrA(c) Coffinhal. But her brother forbids their union, choosing for her instead an aging, wealthy baron.
Widowed and a mother while still a teen, Gabrielle arrives at the court of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette in time to be swept up in the emerging cataclysm. As a new order rises, Gabrielle finds her own lovely neck on the chopping blockaand who should be selected to sit on the Revolutionary Tribunal but her first love, Pierre-AndrA(c). . . .
Replete with historical detail, complex and realistic characters (several of whom actually existed), and a heroine who demandsaand rewardsaattention, Mistress of the Revolution is an unforgettable debut.
A stunning new talent in historical fiction makes her debut with a novel perfect for readers of In the Company of the Courtesan by Sarah Dunant
Publisher: New York : Dutton, c2008
ISBN: 9780525950547
0525950540
Branch Call Number: FIC Delor 6939
Characteristics: 451 p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

hania4987 Jun 18, 2013

a well-written "memoir" of Gabrielle de Montserrat, a young noblewoman, which spans the decade before the Revolution through the Terror. It is ultimately a story of one woman's survival but it remains incredibly ambivalent. She is a noblewoman who has surprisingly Jacobin sympathies yet enjoys the lifestyle and maintains relationships with her aristocratic peers. She does not represent a very admirable woman, dominated by whoever the male is in her life. The manner in which the story unfolds, makes no distinction in France's governance before or during the Revolution. Since it is a personal account, I would have liked more information about her current circumstances and relationship with her family -- she is writing from the perspective of 20 years after the revolution.

e
emerge
Nov 26, 2012

An engrossing & compelling read of one woman's life during the French Revolution. The author has obviously done her homework, mixing actual figures with the fictional & giving a vivid portrait of life at that time. Highly recommend for those who enjoy historical fiction with dashes of intrigue & romance.

r
redwallflower
Jan 25, 2011

I really liked this book! It is the memoir of a French aristocrat named Gabrielle and chronicles her life before, during and after the French Revolution. I recommend it to all readers who enjoy historical fiction!

samdog123 Sep 07, 2008

What a wonderful read! Written in memoir format, it tells the story of french noblewoman, Garbrielle Monsterrat, who survives the french revolution. I really could'nt put it down. Historical fiction at its best. Reminds me of Sandra Gulland's Josepine B trilogy.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top